2018-01-17 / Front Page

Candidates sign up for county offices

By Debbie Lowe
Staff writer

Several candidates decided to file early last Wednesday to be on their party’s May 8 Primary ballot. This was the first day to file.

Current Assessor Neda K. Duff (R) filed to run for another four-year term as did Republican Sheriff Tobe Leazenby. Former and current Auditor Beth Myers (R), the Republican Party Chair, has one challenger thus far in the Primary Election, Sharon Milburn (R). Milburn is employed in the County Clerk’s office.

County Council member Jamie Rough (R) filed Jan. 11 to run in the Republican Primary for District 1 County Commissioner, the seat currently occupied by John Brown. Current Rock Creek Trustee, Republican Don Leisure filed to run for a second term as did current Tippecanoe Twp. Trustee, Republican Marcia Jura. In addition, current Monroe Twp. Trustee Sarah Hanaway filed to run for another term.

Annie M. Crossler (R) filed to run for a seat on the Jefferson Township Board and County Veterans’ Officer Larry Leach (R) filed to run for a seat on the Rock Creek Twp. Board.

The deadline for a major political party candidate to file for the Primary Election is Feb. 9 at noon.

Additional information about the Republican Party can be obtained from Party Chair Beth Myers who can be contacted via email at bbcmyers@tds.net and by telephone at (765) 564- 9676. Democratic Party Chair Roger Beckner can be reached by telephone at (574) 967-3531. Libertarian Party Chair Franklyn Voorhies can be reached by telephone at (765) 543-7645.

Return to top