2011-06-29 / Education

Carroll FFA ranked in Top 10

Carroll FFA Chapter participated in the State FFA Convention that was held at Purdue University June 13-15.

One of the highlights for local members was the Carroll Chapter being named as one of the top 10 chapters in the state of Indiana. There are 200 chapters in the state. The ranking is based on the chapter’s activities throughout the year. This was the 10th time in the past 11 years that the chapter has received this honor. The chapter form will now be sent on for competition at the national level.

Both of the Chapter’s Parliamentary Procedure Teams made it through sectional competition and competed at the State Contest also. Members of the Novice Chapter Meeting Team were: Alex Eldridge,

Madison Rinehart, Karlee Kitchel, Samantha Dreadfulwater, Zac Prater, Jared Miller, Cole Hickner, Justyn Wilson, and Abby Burns. Members of the Senior Chapter Meeting Team were: Susanna Taylor, Ricky Burns, Samantha Pickens, Chad Griffin, Dan Budreau, Justin Barbour, Trey Overholser, Courtney Benefiel, Maizie Wickersham, and Kylie Wagoner.

The Chapter had several members excel in the State Proficiency Contest. Proficiencies are based on the student’s Supervised Agriculture Experience (SAE) Program. Ricky Burns placed first in Sheep Production. Second places went to: Susanna Taylor, Home and Community Development; Chad Griffin, Diversified Livestock

Production; and Jarvis Simmons, Swine Production. Samantha Pickens received third place in Home and Community Development while Kylie Wagoner received fourth place in Equine Science.

The Chapter also had five members receive their State FFA Degree. This is the highest degree a member can receive in the FFA at the state level. The degree is based on the member’s SAE, FFA Leadership, and Community Leadership. Recipients were: Justin Barbour, Dan Budreau, Ricky Burns, Chad Griffin, and Jarvis Simmons.

On a final note, the Chapter had two members who were elected to district offices. Ricky Burns was elected as the District V Vice President and Chad Griffin was elected District V Reporter.

Return to top